On September 15, 1893, United States Senator and Elkins businessman, Henry G. Davis and wife, Katie, deeded nine-acres of land to the city of Elkins to be used exclusively as a park. Their foresight has enabled the Elkins City Park to be one of the most unique parks in the nation. Several oak trees, dating 300 years or older, still stand in the park today.
A city ordinance in 1974, established the Elkins Parks and Recreation Commission to promote recreation areas and programs for the city of Elkins. Since that time millions of dollars in renovations through grants and budget allocations have created the present day park operations, which include the Elkins City Park, Davis Street Park, Bluegrass Park, River Bend Park, and Glendale Park.
The Elkins Parks and Recreation Commission has five members, all of whom are residents of the city of Elkins. Four resident members are nominated by Elkins City Council and serve a six year term. The one resident member is a representative from the Elkins City Council and serves a one year term. The commission employs a director and an assistant director to oversee the daily operations of the park facilities and recreation programs.